RSS Feed

Reinstate Owen Holland!

I’m happy to say that Owen Holland is now back at Cambridge finishing his PhD.

Dear Professor Borysiewicz –

As an alumna of the University of Cambridge, I am ashamed.

As a postgraduate student, I feel betrayed.

As a champion of democracy and free speech, I am embarassed that you have muddied the names of causes I hold dear.

As a poet I am angry, sad and spitting gall, embittered by the crass disregard an institution I was once so proud of has shown for gentleness and compassion, for fellow-feeling with future students, for careful thought, well-chosen language and the courage of a young person in using our tools – our words – to stand in defence of all a university is or ought to be.

I cannot comprehend how educators could stand with government vultures who hover to pick cash-purses from the bones of what should be a seat of learning, and against one student – one scapegoat from among the many – who stood to protect the free flow of information and ideas against hegemony and indoctrination from an aggressive government.

What can I do? How can I protest at this? I am not rich enough to hit you where you just might feel it. All I can do is hold my association with the university at arm’s length, and denounce you wherever I go.

I am ashamed I ever went to Cambridge. I call on you, and any of your peers who still believe in education, in ideas or in your much-vaunted right to free speech to repeal the two-years suspension of a student for nothing more than speaking his mind and proceeding in peace against a very real and dangerous aggressor.

I am ashamed. I am angry. I call for the immediate reinstatement of Owen Holland, and an end to this gross and malicious hypocrisy.

Most Sincerely,
Alice B. Reckless

 

 

About alicebreckless

Alice is a Cowgirl. No holds barred, no punches pulled. You can expect feminism, you can expect sex, you can expect anger, sadness and reflection. Don't expect trolls to be tolerated or fools suffered. Alice is all conscience, no prisoners.

Leave a Reply

